Come Back to Me, Orlando

 

dsc04897

20160612_203714

The summer had inhaled and held its breath too long.
The winter looked the same, as if it never had gone.
And through an open window where no curtain hung
I saw you, I saw you
Coming  back to me

__________________________________________________________dsc04847

You came to stay and live your way

But you were scattered like leaves in the wind.
You always say “They can’t make us go away”
But I know what it always has been.

It always has been a transparent dream
Beneath an occasional sigh
Most of the time, I just let it go by
Now I wish it hadn’t begun
And yet, I saw you! Yes, I saw you
Coming back to me.

 

Caleb McGrew, right, wipes tears as he stands with his partner Yosniel Delgado Giniebra, center, during a vigil in memory of the victims of the Orlando mass shooting, Sunday, June 12, 2016, in Miami Beach, Fla. A gunman opened fire inside a crowded gay nightclub early Sunday, before dying in a gunfight with SWAT officers, police said. (AP Photo/Lynne Sladky)

 

Jermaine Towns, left, and Brandon Shuford wait down the street from a multiple shooting at a nightclub in Orlando, Fla., Sunday, June 12, 2016. Towns said his brother was in the club at the time. A gunman opened fire at a nightclub in central Florida, and multiple people have been wounded, police said Sunday. (AP Photo/Phelan M. Ebenhack)

I realize I’ve been here before
On San Francisco cliffs overlooking the shore
So many ghosts in that mist could have been anyone –
But I saw you. It was you
Coming back to me.

orlando-girls

 

ommy

What happens to promises made on a star?

We made you a promise before you were born.
Was our promise just something we made up for fun?
I swear. we thought all the killing was done.

And I saw you,  yes I saw you
Coming back to me

 

1024x1024Black

 

dsc04875

________________________________________________________

 

“There’s no tragedy. I wish the government would round them all up, put them up against a wall, put a firing squad in front of them and blow their brains out. The tragedy is that more of them didn’t die,”

 Pastor Roger Jimenez, Sacramento, California. Recent quote.

 ” I am not a scared, punk-ass little faggot. I am definetly not a pacifist. And I will beat the living shit out of your bigoted ass if you don’t get the fuck out of my way right now.”

Akamu Pali, my dear witty, brave and handsome friend, who died of AIDS in San Francisco in 1992. He was impossibly young.

________________________________________________________

 

Stonewall

 

the-importance-of-dancing-at-the-stonewall-inn-new-yorks-newly-landmarked-gay-bar-1435173568

STONEWALL – “We don’t need no education, we don’t need no thought control… Hey! Leave those kids alone!”  The people who first physically fought the NYPD were these homeless GBLTQ kids who slept in a small park near the nightclub. Quote is taken from, of course, Pink Floyd’s The Wall.

Coming Back to Me  was written by Marty Balin of The Jefferson Airplane in 1967 and released on the band’s second album, Surrealistic Pillow (1967). I changed the lyrics significantly in order to tell this story.

__________________________

 

 

2 thoughts on “Come Back to Me, Orlando

    1. Thanks for writing, Rosaliene. I’ve been crying for three days. Each time it appears that a generation of GBLT teenagers will finally have a good chance of growing up without the freakish knowledge that adults wish them dead – or at least a good chance of growing up, period….
      XXOO

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

