HELP!!

545_STDBS-EMER2AZ_BB

I/cant/get/myspace/bar/to/work/no/matter/what/I/do.

This/really/SUCKS.

And/i/have/an/article/due!!

If/it/helps,/the/space/bar/had/been/increasingly/less/responsive/for/a/month/but/i/just/got/used/to/it/because/I’m/so/far/from/any/repair/place.(And/I/fear/the/cost).

The/economy/of/denial/heh/heh.

670px-Call-Mayday-from-a-Marine-Vessel-Step-10

FYI/the/space/bar/would/respond/to/either/a/fairly/hefty/whack/or/wellplaced/delicate/pressure,/depending/on/its/mood.This/evening/nothing/can/budge/it

I/hope/to/hell/I/didn’t/kill/it

Can/anyone/advise/me~?

WAH!

670px-Call-Mayday-from-a-Marine-Vessel-Step-7

19 thoughts on “HELP!!

  1. There is probably dust or debris under it. Get yourself a can of compressed air and blow underneath all the keys. This is a very common problem with laptop keyboards that aren’t designed for industrial applications. 🙂

    Hope that helps.

    Like

    1. It’s a huge mystery that I can be as idiotic about certain computer basics and still be blogging. Thanks-you were right. I’d already pulled off the space bar in a display of immature impatience for which I’m now paying with a wobbly but functioning bar.
      Ironically enough, I can lay out a newspaper page and use Photoshop still do moronic things like absentmindedly try to download exlusively Mac apps to my rickety PC..
      Thanks again. Heading over to your other comment now.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Putting keys back on is a daunting task for even the most experienced PC tech (25 years in the business, I have stories…) I’m glad I was able to help. And while I can regurgitate a million useless facts, and write pretty acceptably, I can’t remember to put gas in my car. Sooooo, I’m with ya sister.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sean~ I hadn’t thought of that! I’ve got the spacebar going, although it’s now loose, but I’m having to bang on all the keys. There can’t be a piece of crud under every single key. I wonder if I inadverdently changed a setting a month ago. (Isn’t this fascinating for you?)
      My final thought is: why are laptops built so shitty?
      Thanks a lot for writing, S.A. Joyce. You know, I thought I was following you all this time.
      So,this explains why you’re not in my Reader. I wish I could be a Neo Luddite – that’s where you avoid technology and someone else maintains it for you. Har Har!

      Like

    1. Ha! I can imagine:
      Blogger: Well, you don’t have to yell.
      Rosaliene: I’M NOT YELLING.

      Seriously, I hope you got it fixed without too much trouble – sometimes it seems that computers malfunction in direct proportion to the importance of our task. If I’m just screwing around idly, my computer is in top form. But if I get a publisher’s nod for an article idea, the laptop, alerted by the microwave oven, immediately initiates an aggressive work slowdown, aimed at a strike.
      Monsanto, Google,and Homeland Security are behind this,
      I just know it (-:

      Like

    1. Thanks,Stuart! I took off the spacebar and there WAS a huge piece of crud. Now the spacebar is precariously balanced,as I can’t it to snap back in again.But it’s working!
      (I knew you were awaiting this breaking story with bated breath) (-:

      PSI’m probably going to delete this post – it makes me (not you guys – thanks!) look so dumb.

      Like

Leave a Reply

