OPEN YOUR EARS: LISTENING TO RURAL AMERICA

Eléctrica in the Desert

KJ8J0364

ALL  PHOTOS  BY CLAIRE  O’BRIEN

______________________________________

I’ve watched so many parades all over the middle of America, that they have come to form a kind of map, marking the contours of the landscape I know best.  I always feel rooted when I see a parade, a banner strung across a remote Main Street announcing a parade, or even an arrow pointing in the direction of a parade, because then I know exactly what to do: document it as if there’s never been another parade like it – nor will there ever be again. That this is so exactly not the case is, in fact,  a large part of what makes my ” job” so important.

Mexwag1

This was a literally pressing and specific responsibility when I was a staff reporter, but even now that I’m just a freelance bum, there are times when I can’t avoid the sense that I’m on some kind…

View original post 1,380 more words

Leave a Reply

