Thank you, Gabriel Garcia Marquez

R.I.P Gabo! I love you.

Petchary's Blog

I was extremely saddened by the news of the death of Gabriel García Márquez, the great Colombian writer. He passed away at home in Mexico City, aged 87, after being hospitalized for a lung infection recently. 

"One Hundred Years of Solitude" has sold over 50 million copies in 37 languages. “One Hundred Years of Solitude” has sold over 50 million copies in 37 languages.

Saddened is not a strong enough word, really. His works have always taken me into a world of intricate beauty and enchantment, infused with wisdom. Although I cannot speak Spanish, the English translations have always been enough to transport me to that world. The language alone is entrancing, but Márquez was always the greatest of storytellers. Importantly, he was my personal introduction to Latin American literature. He got me hooked. As you can see from the book reviews posted in this blog, I have remained absorbed and fascinated by the fiction coming from this continent – so close to our…

View original post 955 more words

Leave a Reply

