DESDE URUGUAY: UN POETA INFORMES

Zoominto101590.166667

                             FROM  URUGUAY : A POET REPORTS

                                       ~ Celebration of Fantasy  ~
 
It happened at the entrance to the town of Ollantaytambo, near Cuzco.  I had detached myself from a  group of tourists and was standing alone looking at the stone ruins in the   distance when a small boy from the neighborhood, skinny and ragged, came over to ask if I would give him a pen. I couldn’t give him my pen, because I was using it to write down all sorts of boring notes, but I offered to draw a little pig for him on his hand.
Suddenly the word got around. I was surrounded by a throng of little boys demanding at the top of their  lungs that I draw animals on their little hands cracked by dirt and cold, their skin of burnt leather: one wanted a condor and one wanted a snake,  others preferred little parrots or owls, and some asked for a ghost or a dragon.
                                                           Zoominto225604
Then, in the middle of this racket,  a little waif who barely cleared a yard off the ground showed me a watch drawn in black ink on his wrist.
       “An uncle of mine who lives in Lima sent it to me,” he said.
                              “And does it keep good time?” I asked him.
                              “It’s a bit  slow,” he admitted.
                                ~~ Eduardo Galeano ~~
                                                   Zoominto72706.5714286
                                            BIENVENIDO. PASA. ENTRAR.
                                            WELCOME. COME IN. ENTER.
Zoominto18951.4285714
EL MUNDO ES TU REINO. LAS PIERNAS SON SU PASAPORTE, VÁLIDO PARA SIEMPRE.
THE WORLD IS YOUR KINGDOM. YOUR LEGS ARE YOUR PASSPORT, VALID FOREVER.
                                          ~~  EDUARDO  GALEANO ~~
                                           Thank-you, Paul Seimmering
27 thoughts on “DESDE URUGUAY: UN POETA INFORMES

  1. ! Lo siento, Sr! Muchas gracias para Pingbats. Apprendiendo (apprendo?) blogging, y mucho es muy nueva pari mi. ( Yo: ?”Que es esto – Pingback?”)
    !Me gusta usted blog! Wow. Bueno,

    O – mi Espanol: Si, lo siento. Oye, si.

    .En Ingles, I think of this poem as “Love makes us Soldiers” (not the real title, I know!)

    No esperó para amor –
    Puse en esperar a que.

    PABLO NERUDA

    Paz y justica,
    Clara

    Like

  2. Greetings from Australia,
    What an absolutely gorgeous and heartrending story; so beautiful to experience the simplicity and innocence of children, especially those affected by poverty and hardship.
    God bless you.

    Like

    1. Greetings from the Big Yank!
      Please forgive my delayed response – and thank-you so much for your open gaze: sympathy for destitute children has become a self-generating cottage industry. But expressions of appreciation such as yours, of value framed by feeling such as ‘gorgeous’ and ‘beautiful’ – these are hard to come by. To this, I would add my admiration for their creativity and nimble thinking, as well as gratitude for their capacity for joy.
      Thanks also for following me. I look forward to dropping by soon.

      God bless you, too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

