MASTERS OF WAR

Joan_Baez_Bob_Dylan_______________________________________________________________________________

Come you masters of war -
You that build the big guns,
You that build the death planes,
You that build all the bombs.
You that hide behind walls
You that hide behind desks
I just want you to know
I can see through your masks.

_______________________________

10534620_328314893993144_8030324825868097753_n

You that never done nothin’
But build to destroy
You play with my world
Like it’s your little toy

But I see through your eyes
And I see through your brain
Like I see through the water
That runs down my drain.

israelkilling53

_____________________________ 

Let me ask you one question
Is your money that good
Will it buy you forgiveness?
Do you think that it could?
I think you will find
When your death takes its toll
All the money you made
Will never buy back your soul.

______________________________

1405373023187

And I hope that you die
And your death’ll come soon
I will follow your casket
In the pale afternoon
And I’ll watch while you’re lowered
Down to your deathbed
And I’ll stand over your grave
‘Til I’m sure that you’re dead.

napalm

WHAT’S THE DIFFERENCE?

___________________________________________________________________________________

bpcb

______________________________________________________________________

I don’t want to pray for Palestine. I don’t want to send good energy to Palestine. I don’t want to meditate thoughts of peace for Palestine. I don’t want to send charity to Palestine.

I want to fight for Palestine.

Just as International Brigades of workers converged on Spain from all over the world to try to defeat fascism prior to World War Two, I want to fight NOW, before it is too late. It may already be too late.

________________________________________________

“We could have stopped the bastards. We could have stopped them”

Member, Abraham Lincoln Brigade (U.S.A.)

________________

thousandeyes_zps2c4c47c1

_____________________________________

THIS IS GOD:

bp1

Tiny Haitian child, dancing / Photo info unknown.

______________________

 

Free Palestine

______________________________________

NOTE: The use of excerpts from Masters of War by Bob Dylan is intentional.

____________________________

Free the Animals

4 thoughts on “MASTERS OF WAR

  1. I was not ready for these pictures, although I don’t want to put my head in the sand. I feel the sadness as if they were my own children. I had no children in 1982 but I see very similar events in that and this year. Hama / Sabra & Chatilla / …
    We couldn’t travel free in Europe, yet, but as things are going right now, it’s like time is going backwards.

  2. Pingback: MASTERS OF WAR | johannisthinking

  3. Great courage, Claire! I wish that every member of Congress would receive this in their email Monday morning! I am so dreading that the escalation in Iraq, will result in another entrance by the USA. The anger between Palestine and Israel—devastating—even though I have always felt sorrow for the Jewish people for all the hatred they have experienced from “Christian” folks, I do not agree with what they are doing to Palestine. It seems there is great hesitancy for people to express that–you have courageously done so! Your words are pertinent and the photos bleed my heart…how could anyone not feel sorrow and want to have peace when one sees what it is doing to those innocent children? I will reblog you on my posting, if it is available on your site. Blessings!

    Just an aside, I was recently told that my blog wrote about too many sad things—well, I feel I write in reality and what I experience—and I write as I do, as I think you do, to wake people up to the fact that each action we take, each word that comes from our mouths—does affect others. I admire your courage and your writing encourages me!

    • Dear Johann,

      Please keep writing about every sad thing that fills your heart. It is right and proper to be sad right now. Whomever is not sad and furious is at least a little crazy – or completely insane, ie, Congress – and it is a lot better to be sad and human than crazy.(I don’t mean people who have received some sort of ‘crazy’ label either, that’s for sure. We all know who the true deviants are!)
      Just to clarify – Jewish people are not doing this to Palestine. Israel is. All over the world, Jews are protesting Israel’s genocidal, racist actions, which are carried out hand in glove with and for US policies. I’m not Jewish, but many in my family are and they are heartbroken. My 75-year-old stepmother just got back from two protests in one day.
      Do you know of the famous American abolitionist John Brown? When he was hung, his death inspired many who had supported him secretly into open action. He spoke passionately of what it means when one cannot bear to NOT act, when one can no longer betray one’s own humanity: the loss is too huge and too painful to bear,
      Thank-you so very much for writing to me, my brother. You encourage ME and I salute your own courage.
      Claire

      PS You know I did not write the lyrics to Masters of War (sorry – had to clarify just in case. I just wrote the end stuff is all)

Leave a Reply

